Lunar Eclipse On Now, Moon Glowing Blood Red

Lunar eclipse 2014
The full moon will darken and grow reddish tonight during a total lunar eclipse that may help a fall meteor shower shine.

The edge of the Earth's shadow will begin to pass over October's full moon, traditionally called the hunter's moon, at 1:15 a.m. PT or 4:15 a.m. ET. It will cover the moon for a total lunar eclipse starting 3:15 a.m. PT or 6:15 a.m. ET and lasting 59 minutes.

Because the eclipse takes place close to moonset in Eastern Canada, J. Randy Attwood, executive director of the Royal Astronomical Society of Canada, recommends that viewers in eastern provinces scout out a spot with a clear view of the southwest horizon, so that trees and buildings don't block their view.